What is it?

Electroacoustic Composition

Eight channel piece composed in the summer of 2007 using CSound and binaural soundscape recordings. The version presented here is a stereo version but a 8 channel spatialization is also available.
This stereo version can be listened through speakers but listening through headphones allows for a better perception of the spatial characteristics of the binaural materials. The binaural version available above is a virtual version of the 8 channel spatialization (using headphones an approximate multichannel surround experience is attained). This piece was featured in the Vage Terrain online magazine, in the citySCENE issue.

Based on soundscape recordings done while performing soundwalks (walking and listening attentively to the environment) through different neighbourhoods in Toronto. The recordings where then edited and transformed using time stretching, convolution and layering. The title “What is it?” is actually an ancient Zen koan (question) used as a meditation tool. This piece is a meditation on the unity of everything perceived through sound.


  • Duration: 9:24
  • Channels: 8
  • Role: Solo work
  • Tools: Field recordings, custom Csound processing, Ardour


  • - 8 channel version premiered on August 11th, 2007 at the Sound Travels Festival in the context of the emerging artists residency organized by New Adventures in Sound Art.
  • - 8 channel version on October 5th, 2007 at the Oscar Peterson Concert Hall, Concordia University, Montreal (Harvest Moon Festival).
  • - 8 channel version performed on December 4th, 2007 at a AngelusNovus.net concert in Toronto.